★★★★★ · book review

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 3.21.51 PM

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Edition: Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★★

What I thought: I adored this book! Rainbow Rowell has a wonderful writing style and her books are always well paced. I really enjoyed the dual perspective we get in this book, I think it would have been pretty lacking if we couldn’t see both sides of the relationship.

It has always been hard for me to put into words how much I love this book and the reasons why I do. I found Eleanor and Park to be so relatable in their geekiness and awkwardness. It was easy to empathize and connect with them on an emotional level and really understand what each character was going through. Plus they are both so sweet! They had so much in common but still had their moments of conflict which made for hilarious banter.

The ending for me was bittersweet. Though it was vague and left you guessing I think the book ended perfectly. It kind of lets you come up with the ending which is something I like. It does infuriate me sometimes that I don’t know what comes next for these characters but I find solace in the fact that they are happy.

Who would I recommend this book to: Fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins, Una LaMarche, and Gayle Forman would love this book. Anyone who enjoys a good contemporary story about a boy and girl falling in love, with some gritty undertone will devour this book.

Have you read E&P? What did you think?Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

2 thoughts on “Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

