book haul

What Comfort Zone?! | Book Haul

janhaul.png

I have moved completely out of my Young Adult comfort zone with this book haul! Seriously, if you peruse my bookshelf it is probably 90% YA. I have been wanting to take a step out of my comfort zone for a while to diversify my reading some more.

Without further ado, the books I’ve purchased are:

The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie
I purchased this book to be my top 100 mystery novel for the Around the Year in 52 Books challenge. I had originally chosen Murder on the Orient Express but I spotted this one and thought it would be just as interesting.

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
I’ve been curious about Murakami’s works for a while now and did some digging to find out where I should start. Norwegian Wood was one of the most recommended as a good starting point for Murakami so I went on the search and found it!

Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle
I’ve heard good things about this book from Regan at PeruseProject on YouTube and I think Raeleen Lemay as well. The synopsis has me very intrigued as well.

Room by Emma Donoghue
I’ve seen this book around a lot and have always been curious but with the move coming out my interest has been renewed so I went ahead and picked it up.

My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem (kindle – not pictured)
In case you haven’t heard Emma Watson (yes, that Emma Watson) has started a GoodReads group called Our Shared Shelf where she chooses a feminist book for the group to read each month, and this is the January pick. This is another foray into literature that I have yet to take and thought, why not? I’ve read a few pages so far and I am compelled by the writing and have highlighted a few things.

All in all I think I did pretty well picking some new and exciting adult fiction novels. I have a few more on my never ending list of books to buy that I feel will help me continue to read diversely. I’ve also recently picked up I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai and The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan which are both in genre’s that I don’t read that often (autobiography and essay collection respectively).

Let me know in the comments if you have read any of these books and what you thought of them (no spoilers).

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

Leave a Reply

