★★★ · series review

The Maze Runner Series | Review

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 7.03.32 PM

The Maze Runner series by James Dashner is a series about a boy named Thomas who is put in a maze with no memories and has to start adapting to his new life. Things go down, plot twists ensue, and shenanigans lead to two other books that I can’t really talk about without giving plot points away. What I can do is give you my overall impression of this series in a non-spoilery way.

I first read the Maze Runner when I was a senior in High School (7 years ago) and I really enjoyed it. I think I gave it 4 stars back then. I came back to the series at the end of 2015 because I wanted to see it through and find out what ended up happening to Thomas and the gang. This go around I gave each book 3 stars and just found the series to be mediocre at best.

Now, this isn’t me saying that this series is terrible. In fact, I can see why many middle school students really enjoy this series because it is fast paced and full of action. The Maze Runner is a great place to start a foray into Dystopian literature because after that the dystopian series’ just get better and better (The Hunger Games, The Uglies Trilogy). I have read so many amazing books in the years since I read TMR for the first time that I just don’t find this book that awesome any more. It is a great quick read and it has a compelling storyline but the end just fell flat for me.

This series had some great moments and it is worth a read because it tells an intriguing story. I can highly recommend this book to someone looking to getting into dystopian books or students looking for an action packed and fast read. I can recommend this to someone who wants an audio book that is entertaining and can pass time well. I will eventually come back to this series and read the Kill Order and the rest of the new trilogy and I will give Dashner’s other series The Eye of Minds a go too at some point I am sure.

Have you read the Maze Runner series? What did you think? Tell me in the comments below!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

One thought on “The Maze Runner Series | Review

Leave a Reply

