★★★★★ · book review

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: YA Sci-Fi/Contemporary/Romance
Edition: Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★★

I picked this book up, like many others, because of the freaking GORGEOUS cover. I love this book because of everything else on the inside! The writing, the romance, the science, the twists and turns, everything! Marguerite is such a fun narrator for this story because she has a bit of snark and is so headstrong but still follows her heart. Paul and Theo are wonderful as well and I just love the dynamic between this trio.

I love the scientific intrigue this book presents and how there are so many different dimensions in the multiverse. It really makes you think about what your life would be like if one little thing was changed about your life. I mean, the fact that you could possibly be royalty if certain things didn’t lead to your ancestors immigrating?!

I think the best part about this book is the different settings. We get to see London and a similar California but we also see Russia and an oceanography research vessel. Each jump with the Firebird takes Marguerite to a new life and her experiences are so vivid. Russia was by far my favorite though I feel like it could have been developed more. Marguerite stays very true to her original self in each of the different dimensions but I feel that it can sometimes take away from the atmosphere of that dimension.

All in all I have no qualms with this first installment of the trilogy. I had so much fun reading it and all of my little questions have been answered (so far) I am very curious where book two will take us and what happens next.

Have you read A Thousand Pieces of You? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

 

One thought on “A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Leave a Reply

