general · monthly wrap-up

January Reading Wrap Up

In the month of January I read a total of 8 books (and 3 short novella’s that I did not count towards my Goodreads goal). This was a pretty good reading month for me considering it started with me back at work and consistently busy. I have been doing most of my reading on the weekends with not much reading during the week so I am really proud of this 8 book total that I have this month! Well, without further ado, here are the books I read in the month of January.

The first book I finished in January was We Can Work it Out by Elizabeth Eulberg! This is the sequel to The Lonely Hearts Club, a book about a girl who has her heart broken by a guy and decides to swear off of guys for the rest of her high school career. She creates the Lonely Hearts Club to empower other girls in her high school to do the same. Everything is awesome until she starts to have feelings for another boy. We Can Work it Out picks the story up where TLHC left off and was just as funny and cute as the first book! I also read the 3 short stories that bridge the gap between TLHC and WCWIO. I did not count them towards the monthly total because they were shorter than 50 pages. If you are looking for a light and fun read with a dash of girl power and a more than average dose of The Beatles these books are for you! I rated We Can Work it Out four stars on Goodreads.

Next I read Never Never: Part 2 and the highly anticipated Never Never: Part 3 written by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. This series of novellas is about Silas and Charlie, a teenage couple that has lost their memories due to some kind of freak amnesia. There is some romance, mystery, and fun banter while these two figure out what is happening to them and why they keep losing their memories every 48 hours. I found each installment compelling but ultimately it was super cheesy and not as satisfying as I was hoping it would be. I rated each installment 3 stars on Goodreads.

I was also able to finish off the original Maze Runner trilogy this month. I read both The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure  by James Dashner and found them to be just okay. I said in my reviews that I can see where the appeal is if this is your first stab into the dystopian genre or are a young teen just getting into books. I feel like this is a series that could turn non-readers into readers. It is fast paced, intriguing, and action-packed. Unfortunately as a 24 year old the books kind of fell flat for me. I enjoyed them a lot though and I definitely see their merit, they just weren’t for me (not any more, anyways). I gave both books a 3 star rating on Goodreads. Click here to read my series review.

The next book I finished was A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. Oh my goodness did I love this book!! I went into this expecting a story much like A Darker Shade of Magic since it is about multiple dimensions but I came away from this book with much more than that (these two books really can’t be compared, they are nothing alike). I really enjoyed the sci-fi nature of the book and the romance was lovely. I am super excited to eventually get to Ten Thousand Skies Above You closer to the release date of  A Million Worlds With You. This book is beautifully written and was such a fast read when I was able to sit down and fall into it. I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads! Click here to read my full review!

I got to read an advanced readers copy of The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner this month and it was BEAUTIFUL! This was such an awesome book! A wonderfully written tale of friendship, growing up, and family dynamics. This book had me laughing and crying and feeling every emotion in between. It was spectacular! The Serpent King comes out on March 8th and my full review of that book will be up around then as well! I gave it 5 glorious stars!

The last book I finished in January was Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I started this series in December of last year after winning a paperback of Red Rising from a Goodreads giveaway. I devoured it then just as much as I did this second time around. I bought the hardcovers of Red Rising and Golden Son after finding out that I won a SIGNED copy of Morning Star from the Random House instagram giveaway! I am dying to finish my reread and have Morning Star in my hands ASAP!

What books did you read this month? Which one was your favorite?

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

One thought on “January Reading Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

