★★★★ · book review

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 9.26.44 AMPublisher: McElderry Books
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Edition: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

I listened to the audio book and read parts of the story and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had!

So, most people would probably think it blasphemous that I finished the Mortal Instruments series before I started this trilogy because every one talks about CoHF being this huge spoiler, and it is, but it didn’t take anything away from my reading of this book. Honestly I think it made me all the more interested in seeing where this trilogy is leading.

I can also see why a lot of people prefer this book (and it’s sequels) over TMI. The writing is superb, the story is so rich, Tessa has a wonderful voice, and of course Will and Jem are fantastic characters. The only thing, at this point, I don’t understand is everyone’s love of Will. He is a wonderful character but I just don’t feel that all encompassing love for him, yet. There are two more books for character development and I am sure that his brooding and mysterious nature is going to slowly be chipped away, unless that is why everyone loves him? I am really curious to hear more of his story. JEM is the one I LOVE! He is so kind and well spoken. I love how much he cares for Tessa and the other shadowhunters.

Clare is a wonderful crafter of plot twists and this book had a pretty major one! I literally realized it as Tessa did and I was listening to it and saying some choice words. The last third of the book had so much going on and really lets Clare’s writing shine. Tessa is such a complex character and I am so interested to see how she grows and to find out where all the the little bits and pieces that I know from spoilers fit in. Also, I am pretty certain I need a clockwork angel necklace now that I am officially on this band wagon!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

Leave a Reply

