★★★★ · book review

Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 9.11.35 PMPublisher: Month9Books
Genre: YA Sci-Fi/Romance – Aliens
Edition: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Wow, I seriously love this book! I read this over the summer and now that the sequel is out in the wild I decided to do a reread to get myself pumped up, well it certainly did the trick! I read FITW in less than 24 hours and I am SO excited to see where Ashes in the Sky takes this story!

Jennifer has such a fun and witty writing style that is super easy to read and her characters develop nicely over the course of the book. Jess is so sassy and David is so innocent and sweet you can’t help but love them. This book is perfect for a quick summer read or a pick me up between heavier fantasy books because you can fly through it! It reads like a contemporary but packs the punch of an action movie. I think my favorite part is that this isn’t a typical alien story, David doesn’t know anything about Earth’s culture and it works out really well with the story. Jess and David both get some great one-liners in and have a wonderful chemistry between them. You can tell how passionate both characters are about their individual interests and they are completely genuine.

I really appreciate the ending of the book. It was really well done and definitely showcases the best of Jennifer’s visual writing style. I can’t say much more without spoiling anything so I suggest you just go read the book!

I recommend Fire in the Woods to fans of the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and Alienated by Melissa Landers as well as anyone who has never given an alien book a try and wants to start slow. Obviously lovers of contemporary and romance books will find a home in this book as well because it has many of those qualities that make a good RomCom.

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

Leave a Reply

