books · general

Fifteen Favorite Book Quotes

Today I had a book photo challenge ask me for favorite book quotes and as I started thinking about them I really couldn’t decide on just a few. As I gathered books that I had tabbed I suddenly had 15 books in my hands and I knew I had to share them all. Thus this post was born. Below I will list a book and it’s author and one quote that I loved from the book. I won’t tell you where in the book the quote pops up and none of the quotes spoil anything about the book.

Please leave a favorite quote of yours in the comments down below! I would love to read them! Without further ado, here are fifteen of my favorite quotes.

Silent Echo by Elisa Freilich

“You only have a certain number of words to say in your lifetime, and so you shouldn’t waste your words on anything stupid or mean”

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books. In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters.  I lived love an loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.”

Forever by Maggie Stiefvater (author’s note)

“I can assure you that sort [of relationship] is absolutely real. Mutual, respectful, enduring love is completely attainable as long as you swear you won’t settle for less.”

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

“You know everything you need to know about a person from the answer to the question, What is your favorite book?”

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

” I’ve always been into the Big Bang theory of passion, but as something theoretical, something that happens in books that you can close and put back on a shelf, something that I might secretly want bad but can’t imagine ever happening to me.”

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy. It’s the noblest, like the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

“Trust is when we plummet into the depths of an abyss and reach out for each other’s hands.”

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things.”

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

“Memories: some can be sucker punching, others carry you forward; some stay with you forever, others you forget on your own. You can’t really know which ones you’ll survive if you don’t stay on the battlefield, bad times shooting at you like bullets. But if you’re lucky, you’ll have plenty of good times to shield you.”

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

“That was just it. You never knew what lay ahead; the future was one thing that could never be broken, because it had not yet had the chance to be anything. One minute you’re walking though a dark woods, alone, and then the landscape shifts, and you see it. Something wondrous and unexpected, almost magical, that you never would have found had you not kept going. Like a new friend who feels like an old one, or a memory you’ll never forget.”

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

“So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons, And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

“Thou shalt remake the world.”

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

“’You could rattle the stars,’ she whispered. ‘You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.'”

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

‘I wonder if that’s how darkness wins, by convincing us to trap it inside ourselves, instead of emptying it out.”

Leave a Reply

