anticipated releases 2016 · general

Most Anticipated Releases | April Edition

I am anticipating some great novel releases this month and thought I would share them with you! These are just 10 of the novels I am excited for and they are in order by release date. I’ve included just a piece of each synopsis and my reasons for wanting to read it!


 

1. The Haters by Jesse Andrews | Release Date: April 5th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.44.45 PM

Synopsis Snippet: Inspired by the years he spent playing bass in a band himself, The Haters is Jesse Andrews’s road trip adventure about a trio of jazz-camp escapees who, against every realistic expectation, become a band.

Why I want to read it: I love a good book about music and bands. The snippet reminds me of Lemonade Mouth (the Disney Channel movie) with the whole “against expectations become a band” thing, though I don’t know if that is really the direction this book is headed. I already own it, I found a signed copy at the Strand in NYC when I visited on March 21st.


 

2. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum | Release Date: April 5th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.23.33 PM

Synopsis Snippet: Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

Why I want to read it: I read this as an ARC a few months ago and really enjoyed it! It is a pretty light and fun contemporary read. I will have a review up soon for it!


 

3. Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan | Release Date: April 5th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.22.03 PM

 

Synopsis Snippet: In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Why I want to read it: Just that little bit has me intrigued and that isn’t the whole synopsis! I haven’t read anything by Sarah yet aside from the stories she cowrote with Cassandra Clare so I am interested in getting my hands on one of her novels.


 

4. When We Collided by Emery Lord | Release Date: April 5th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.21.20 PMSynopsis Snippet: In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

Why I want to read it: Cover buy anyone?! Also I have been sucked in by realistic fiction with a mental illness focus and am really interested in reading another of Emery Lord’s books.

 


 

5. Emerge by Tobie Easton | Release Date: April 19th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.50.54 PMSynopsis Snippet: Lia Nautilus may be a Mermaid but she’s never lived in the ocean. War has ravaged the seven seas ever since the infamous Little Mermaid unleashed a curse that stripped Mer of their immortality. Lia has grown up in a secret community of land-dwelling Mer hidden among Malibu’s seaside mansions. Her biggest problems are surviving P.E. and keeping her feelings for Clay Ericson in check.

Why I want to read it: IT’S A MERMAID BOOK! I am currently reading an ARC of this and it has been pretty good so far. Lia is a fun main character and I feel like this book is just going to be a good time.


 

6. Soldier by Julie Kagawa | Release Date: April 26th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.23.16 PMSynopsis Snippet: (This is the third book in a trilogy so this snippet is from the first book’s synopsis) Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Why I want to read it: I enjoyed the first two books and found them to be funny and quick to read. These books aren’t an epic dragon tale, they kind of remind me of Jake Long American Dragon. Ember and Dante are just trying to fit in but St. George doesn’t want them to. There are some fun battle scenes but mostly we have romance and antics. The end of Rogue brought us to an interesting crossroads so I am interested to see what direction Soldier takes.


7. Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun | Release Date: April 26th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.22.23 PMSynopsis Snippet: As heir to a kingdom of floating continents, Kali has spent her life bound by limits—by her duties as a member of the royal family; by a forced betrothal to the son of a nobleman; and by the edge of the only world she’s ever known—a small island hovering above a monster-ridden earth, long since uninhabited by humans. She is the Eternal Flame of Hope for what’s left of mankind, the wick and the wax burning in service for her people, and for their revered Phoenix, whose magic keeps them aloft.

Why I want to read it: Everything about this sounds amazing! I’ve wanted to read Amanda Sun’s other series (Ink?) for a while but this book may just be my first book by her! Also, that cover?! *heart eyes*


 

8. There Once Were Stars by Melanie McFarlane | Release Date: April 26th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.42.34 AMSynopsis Snippet: Peace. Love. Order. Dome. That’s the motto that the Order has given the residents of Dome 1618 to live by. Natalia Greyes is a resident of Dome 1618, a covered city protected from the deadly radiation that has poisoned the world outside for four generations. Nat never questioned the Order, until one day she sees a stranger on the outside of the dome. Now Nat wants answers. Is there life outside the dome and if so, what has the Order been hiding from everyone?

Why I want to read it: I just finished reading the ARC for this and it was AMAZING! My review for this will be up towards the end of April but just take my word for it and go preorder this book! Also the author is running a pretty awesome pre-order giveaway of a $100 Amazon or B&N giftcard! Check out more about the book and Melanie here!


 

9. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater | Release Date: April 26th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.20.46 PMSynopsis Snippet: (last book in the series so the snippet is from the first book) Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

Why I want to read it: I may be just starting The Raven Boys but I love Maggie’s writing and I know I am going to adore this series, so yes, I am buying the 4th book!


 

10. The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander | Release Date: April 26th

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 8.31.33 PMSynopsis Snippet: Since her twin brother, Eddie, drowned five years ago, sixteen-year-old Elsie Main has tried to remember what really happened that fateful day on the beach. One minute Eddie was there, and the next he was gone. Seventeen-year-old Tay McKenzie is a cute and mysterious boy that Elsie meets in her favorite boathouse hangout. When Tay introduces Elsie to the world of freediving, she vows to find the answers she seeks at the bottom of the sea.

Why I want to read it: This is a debut novel that I found when perusing the 2016 releases. The cover and the title were intriguing and the synopsis has me curious. The reviews so far are decent and I love giving some support to a new author.


 

What books do you have on your April wish list? Did any of these make your list?

Let me know in the comments below!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

8 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases | April Edition

  1. I’m really looking forward to When We Collided! I haven’t read any books by Emery Lord before, but I heard she’s an amazing author. Luckily, I’m getting When We Collided in my monthly subscription box in April, so I’m pumped for that.

    Like

  2. This is such a great list! I don’t really keep track of anticipated releases, so this is a great starting point for me. You’ve just reminded me to check out The Haters and find a copy as soon as it’s released next week!

    My most anticipated releases this month are The Rose and The Dagger and Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here. 🙂

    Like

    1. Glad to help! 😊 I still need to read The Wrath and the Dawn 🙈 I am terrible for buying sequels before I even read the first book so I’ve been trying to avoid looking up too many sequels haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

