★★★★ · book review · general

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley | Book Review

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 11.11.28 AM

Title: Highly Illogical Behavior
Author: John Corey Whaley
Publisher: PRH/Dial Books
Genre: YA Contemporary, Mental Illness
Series: No
Release Date: May 10th 2016
Pages: 256
My Rating: starstarstarstar

Where to Buy: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | IndieBound

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


What I Thought

This is the first book I have read by John Corey Whaley, and I can guarantee that it will most certainly not be the last! I read this book over the course of two sittings and loved every bit of it. I appreciated the perspective on mental illness and the family and friend relationships that are explored throughout the novel.

This book is a beautiful coming of age story about Solomon Reed a sixteen year old boy with agoraphobia. He is a nerdy, Star Trek loving kid who has not left his house in 3 years following a public panic attack. Enter Lisa Praytor an aspiring phycologist who wants to find “fountain boy” and help him overcome his disorder in order to help her with her college admissions essay. The book is told in alternating perspectives between Sol and Lisa and we see how their friendship changes from being the means to an end for Lisa, to being the best thing to happen to Solomon. While I think that Solomon’s initial meeting with Lisa was a bit too easy (or maybe it could be that easy, I’m not sure) I feel like this book does a great job at telling it’s story in a realistic way.

This book is a breath of fresh air if you are bogged down by romance heavy books. I loved the pop culture references and how humorous and genuine the writing is. Whaley has a way with words and crafted an amazing story. I can’t really say much more but I do want to say that I am so satisfied with the ending and am kind of blown away by the whirlwind that this story pulled me into.

It would be highly illogical for you to not pick this book up!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

One thought on “Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley | Book Review

Leave a Reply

