2016 · book review · monthly wrap-up

Reading Wrap Up | May 2016 Edition

I know this is so late that it almost doesn’t warrant a post and I haven’t done a wrap up in a while but I have read some really good books recently and it would be remiss of me to not acknowledge them on my blog. Sometimes I don’t feel that I have enough to say for a full review post for a specific book so I want to get back into the habit of doing wrap ups again so that I can still talk about all of the books that I have read!

*Please note that any ARCs listed below were received from publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 12.35.42 AMThe Lonely Ones by Kelsey Sutton (ARC)

starstarstarstar The first two word that I wrote about this book were “beautiful” and “captivating”, and both of these words describe this book perfectly. I have a lot of respect for people that can tell amazing, vibrant stories with so few words but Kelsey does a fantastic job. The writing is so lovely and flows so smoothly it is easy to read in one sitting. I love the attention to how the phrases flow and how the stanzas are formatted, it truly made this book an immersive read. (full review)

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley (ARC)Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 11.11.28 AM

starstarstarstar This book was wonderfully fun to read and very interesting to read. Solomon and Lisa have a fascinating relationship throughout the book and I found it to be relatively realistic. I appreciated that this wasn’t a romance story, that it was more about Solomon coming into his own and confronting his fears. (full review)

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 3.51.50 PMThe Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories #2) by Chris Colfer

starstarstarstar I ADORE this series! Chris Colfer’s books are perfect for people who love Once Upon a Time (the TV show) because it is another reimagining of all of your favorite fairytale characters. This is such a fun middle grade series with two awesome main characters, twins Alex and Connor Bailey, and some awesome twists and turns. There are 4 novels out now with a 5th coming out in July and there are 3 companion books out as well. Also, the audio books are voiced by Chris and they are some of my favorite audio books EVER!

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff GarvinScreen Shot 2016-07-03 at 12.34.58 AM

starstarstarstarstar This book offers a completely different perspective on the human experience. Riley is a gender fluid teen who struggles with family, friendships, and how others perceive them. I love this book because it not only tells Riley’s story completely without the use of gender pronouns but it is also informative without being weighty. I feel like I’ve learned a little bit about gender fluidity and with all of the LGBTQIA+ books I read I am even more open minded and thoughtful about how I react to others.

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 3.51.34 PMSoldier (Talon #3) by Julie Kagawa

starstarstarstar This series is just pure fun for me to read. Talon is not mindblowing or profound in any way but it is a damn good story full of action, confusion, multiple perspectives, romance, dragons, and drama. I have been listening to these books on audiobook and I really like the narrators, they all have the perfect voices for these characters. So while this isn’t going to be one of those book series that change your life it is still an awesome series for reading when you don’t want to think and you just want to enjoy the ride. Soldier takes the story to the next level and I found it very enjoyable to read.

Da Vinci’s Tiger by L. M. ElliotScreen Shot 2016-07-03 at 12.34.35 AM

starstarstarstar Historical fiction books are some of my favorites if I am really invested in the time period. This was the first book that I have read set in 15th century Florence and it was great! I really enjoy historical fiction like this that are based on facts and historical records because you get a true taste of the era that the book is set in. This book also has beautiful writing that made the setting and the story that much more enjoyable to read. This is the story of Ginerva de Benci, who was one of the subjects of Leonardo da Vinci’s first paintings, and her life as a woman and poet in Florence.

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 3.51.19 PMCity of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

starstarstarstar I recently read the Infernal Devices Trilogy for the first time and thought I would go back and reread the Mortal Instruments to pick up on the little bits I missed before I continue on in reading Lady Midnight. I really enjoyed coming back to this story via audiobook and I really missed the characters, especially Simon and Clary. I still think that anyone interested in this series should give it a go but if the Mortal Instruments aren’t your cup of tea at least read The Infernal Devices!

 


Have you read any of these books? What did you think? What is your favorite book you’ve read so far this year? Let me know in the comments below!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

Leave a Reply

