2016 · general · monthly wrap-up

Reading Wrap Up | July 2016

Well July has come and gone, and with it another stack of books have been read. In the month of July I read and finished 9 books, which I am really proud of because it didn’t seem like I read that much with being a little slumpy. Anyways without further ado, here are the books I read in July!



 

Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan was a great start to my month, I loved the characters, I loved the world, and of course the romance! Such a great story and I am very much looking forward to reading the companion (in 2018) and all of the extra scenes on Kathy’s website while I wait! A full review with some fun signing commentary is coming soon! starstarstarstarstar

The next book I read was Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn. This was a really interesting book. I so wanted to hate the main character but found it really hard because she was easy to have empathy for even though I really didn’t like what she was doing. I went into this knowing the basic plot of the story but was definitely not expecting it to be so bold. Honestly the secondary characters won this book for me even though I still really enjoyed the book as a whole. starstarstarstar

The odd book in this bunch is The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway, yes? Well the story behind this is while I was teaching summer school I had a student who had a human reader as an accommodation and one of their texts was this novella. I don’t have a great track record with classic literature but I was pleasantly surprised to find myself really enjoying this story. I have even taken the plunge and picked up another Hemingway novel that I hope to read very soon. starstarstarstar

The singular ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) that I read this month was Replica by Lauren Oliver. The only other book by Oliver that I have read was Before I Fall and I like it enough. I was intrigued by all of the hype and the format of this book so when given the chance to borrow this I jumped on it. I read Gemma’s perspective first and then Lyra’s and was honestly underwhelmed. I think the only way to really read this book is in alternating perspectives and with the way the book is bound that is a cumbersome task. I will have a full review up closer to release, just know I did enjoy most of it and am looking forward to reading the next book. starstarstar

Across the Universe by Beth Revis is one of those books that has been sitting on my shelf for ages and I have always wanted to read it but I just never picked it up. Alas, I finally did it! I found the world building intriguing and the characters were fantastic! I loved every bit of the story and am kicking myself for taking so long to finally read it! starstarstarstarstar

During BookTubeAThon this month I picked up Tuck Everlasting  by Natalie Babbitt to complete the yellow on the cover, book to movie adaptation, and book older than me challenges and was definitely enamored by the story. It was a quick read and such a great story I wish I would have read when I was younger. starstarstarstar

After a few false starts earlier this year I finally buckled down and read (or rather listened to) the entirety of Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. This was some epic world building and I don’t know what my problem was the first couple of times I started this other than the obvious “this book is huge” missives. I am so blown away by this world! starstarstarstarstar

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater was the penultimate read of the month and it, of course, did not let me down. This is another book with some interesting world building and great characters. There is so much to learn and be revealed in these books that I simply get pulled into it. I don’t know if I am ready for the next, and final, book in this series but I am sure my curiosity will win out soon enough.starstarstarstar

The final book of the month was, unsurprisingly, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany. I went to a midnight celebration and counted down the seconds to 12:01 on July 31st dressed as Luna Lovegood and I reveled in every minute of it. I literally hugged the book the whole ride home because feels. In true midnight release fashion I got home and immediately started reading the book. In further attention to release night tradition I made it 25% into the book and was basically dying from lack of sleep so I ended up finishing the book when I finally woke up around 12pm HAHA! I really enjoyed the story and it made me gasp, laugh, cry, and feel all the feels that come with reading any of the Harry Potter books. I could envision the stage directions and really enjoyed this new story and format. I just hope I can one day see the play. starstarstarstarstar


There you have it! Those were the 9 books that I read in the month of July and my abridged thoughts on them.

What was your favorite book you read in July? I think mine was Cursed Child for nostalgia reasons, but if you remove that book from the pile I think Sword and Verse would take the top spot.

Here’s to more books in August and Happy Reading!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.12.12 AM

Leave a Reply

