2019 · book review · monthly wrap-up

2019 Reads | June Wrap Up pt. 2!

Here we are with part two of my June Wrap Up! As I said in part 1 I read 18 books in the month of June so I decided to dedicate two posts to the books I’ve read during that month! Here are the seven books I read in the second half of June.


Field Notes on Love by Jennifer E. Smith

Field Notes on Love was super cute and a lot of fun to read. I loved the story and Mae and Hugo’s character and relationship growth. I really liked the family aspects of the story and wish I could see the videos that Mae made. The stories that came from riding on the train just felt so natural. I really wish I could go on a cross country train trip in the US and/or explore Europe via train. I’ve loved the few train trips I’ve been on to New York. This book just gave me major wanderlust.

Spinning by Tillie Walden

Spinning is a graphic memoir about Walden’s time in the world of figure skating. I found the story to be really moving and compelling. I liked the little chapter pages that defined different skating moves. All in all this was a definitely a great read.

The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

I found this novel to be very contrasting with what I knew of Ann Brashares’ previous novels, which was basically just having read the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants books. This sci-fi novel caught me by surprise and then more so because I really enjoyed the story. Prenna was a great MC and the conflict of the story was a lot of fun to read.

Bloom by Kevin Panetta and Savanna Ganucheau

This graphic novel was just a super sweet getting-to-know-you story featuring a M/M romance and I adored it so much. Ari and Hector are adorable together. I also really enjoyed the family bits and Ari’s character growth specifically. I honestly just wished I could have gotten more “page time” of their romance.

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

WOAH, this book! I listened to the audio book after many people recommended such a choice and I am so glad I was able to get it from the library. I loved this story just as much as Evelyn Hugo! The format of the book was super fun and finding out who the interviewer was at the end was super fun. This book read like a real interview conversation and even more so like a real rock biography. I love how Reid can take a book concept and make it feel so real.

Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

This was everything it promised and so much more! It has been a while since I’ve read anything super steamy and romance-y in the adult genre but man, if they could all be like this then I have a new favorite genre. I love a good enemies to lovers trope and this one did not disappoint! I also loved the alternate timeline that this story had that really put me into a super happy place while reading. I am definitely keeping McQuiston on my radar for future books.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

I love Beauty and the Beast, I love a good hate-to-love trope, and I especially love kick ass female leads! This book has all of that and then more! I loved the world, the magic, and oh man the plot twists. The plot twist is what took this book from being an awesome stand alone, to a wickedly cool introduction to a series and I am HERE for it! I am so curious about where the story is going to go!


Well, there you have it! That is the end of my June wrap up! July has started out a bit slow for me after reading so many books in June but I am hoping to power through and read a bunch of books thanks to the Bibliothon, Reading Rush, and maybe a little bit of Middle Grade Magic and NEWTs Magical Readathon challenges throughout the month. I love a good readathon if my mood is right and I really think it is for once!

As always, please share what you are currently reading, what you thought about the books I’ve read, and let me know what you think of my content or what I should post about next!

One thought on “2019 Reads | June Wrap Up pt. 2!

Leave a comment