2019 · Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole #5

Down The TBR Hole is a meme, hosted by Lost in a Story, about organizing your TBR on Goodreads by deciding which books you want to keep, and which books you want to delete.

How it works:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books.
  • Read the synopses of the books.
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The Books:

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

With the new TV series coming out I am really interested in picking this up for another go. I tried to read it when I was younger and just didn’t find it appealing, I am hoping that another attempt will find me in a better place to appreciate this novel.

Judgement: KEEP!

The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud

I spotted this book a while ago at a used bookstore where they were selling the whole trilogy for pretty cheap. The series sounded interesting so I picked it up. I am not sure it is still on my shelf, it may not have survived a purge. I may borrow it from the library but for now…

Judgement: REMOVE

Fear by Michael Grant

I devoured the first few books in this series but then when I had to wait for the next book to come out I just fell off in reading them. I did recently give these books away to someone so I don’t have them physically any more but I do plan on possibly borrowing them from the library and finally finishing them… but for now they can go off my TBR.

Judgement: REMOVE

Dear Zoe by Philip Beard

This is actually back on my list because I want to reread it eventually. It is such a short book and I remember it being amazing, so I want to give it another read and see if it stands up to my memory.

Judgement: KEEP

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Nothing against those that love classics, I have just really come to terms with the fact that they are not for me and there are not many that I will attempt at this point just because I am simply not interested. Jane Eyre is one of the ones I am just not interested in trying to read.

Judgement: REMOVE

______________________________________________________________________________

What do you think of the decisions I made? Have you read these books, should I change my mind?

Leave a comment