2019 · book review

2019 Reads | Books 51 – 56!

I am setting a breakneck pace with my reading now that the school year is coming to a close and I’ve started working on some projects so I’ve been burning through some audiobooks. I’m really excited to read a lot of books this summer now that school is done and I’ve got more time to spend on myself. I have a lot of things I want to do this summer so I’m sure there are a lot of audiobooks in my future. Since May 23rd, my last mini review post, I’ve read another 6 books!

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

I was super interested to read another Gayle Forman book after finally reading If I Stay. I found this book okay, but I wasn’t blown away by the story. I just personally don’t enjoy insta-love kind of books and while Allyson’s story outside of that trope was interesting, I just didn’t find this book amazing. It was a quick, easy read that was generally entertaining, I’m still trying to decide whether I want to read the next one or if I’m just going to say that Gayle Forman’s books just aren’t for me. [3 stars]

Educated by Tara Westover

This book started off pretty slow for me and I wasn’t finding the reason for the hype but I know that memoirs are usually slow-burn, they are literally real life and not everyone’s lives are super fast paced and crazy all the time. I found Tara’s experiences extremely eye opening and I just can’t believe how much turmoil she went through in her life. The emotional manipulation she went through and just her rise in education was just crazy to read about. I found her story fascinating in the end and am really curious to continue to follow her story. [4 stars]

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

This was such a great follow up to Lady Midnight and added a lot to the story. I’m really intrigued to figure out how the story ends in Queen of Air and Darkness. I’m very invested in the characters and can’t wait to see where they all end up. Ty is my favorite and I am so here for the relationships that are developing. I’m honestly so glad I’ve gotten into the habit of reading CC’s books when the whole series is out because I just can’t handle her cliff hangers. [4 stars]

Here We Are Now by Jasmine Warga

I am really mad at myself for not reading this one when it first came out because this was SO good! I love the way Warga writes and her characters. Taliah was such a relatable MC for me and I just really enjoyed the story. Books that focus on family issues always keep my attention because we don’t often see parents take a big role in YA novels, they are more background characters, but this story revolves around Taliah coming to terms with meeting her father after finding out who he is and discovering all that happened between her parents that lead them to where they are now. I just really enjoyed how the story progressed. [5 stars]

How to Love by Katie Cotugno

This was my first Katie Cotugno book and I am definitely interested in her brand of contemporary. There was a lot going on in this story with Reena and Sawyer and it added a lot of layers and drama to the story. As with other contemporaries I’ve read lately this one was entertaining but didn’t blow me away. I am definitely interested in reading more of Cotugno’s books. [3 stars]

Esperanza Rising by Pam Muñoz Ryan

I really appreciated Esperanza’s story of Mexican culture and immigration, I can’t attest to it’s accuracy but it felt very organic. This was such a great story of hardship and hope and is a book I would teach if I were an ELA teacher because a lot of my students experience hardships but have trouble with it like Esperanza but never grow to be able to handle it as well as she has. I also really think this book would do a lot to help students understand struggle. The story had a great foundation with it’s family focus and I just really enjoyed it! [4 stars]

Leave a comment